Can You Name The Three Branches Of Government In The US?


2 Answers

Robyn Rothman Profile
Robyn Rothman answered
The three branches of the government in the US are the Executive Branch, the Legislative Branch, and the Judicial Branch. They are the basis for the system of "checks and balances" in our government.

The Executive Branch consists of the President and his cabinet. The President approves or vetoes laws passed by Congress along with his other responsibilities.

Congress, consisting of the Senate and the House of Representatives, makes up the Legislative Branch of our government. This branch makes the laws that go to the President for his approval (or rejection). The Senate has the power to override laws vetoed by the President, but that requires the approval of two thirds of its members. It takes the approval of Congress to declare war. There are 100 senators, two from each state who are elected for six year terms. The House has 435 members. Each state is permitted a certain number of congressmen according to its population. They are elected for terms of two years.

The Judicial Branch is made up of the courts, in particular, the Supreme Court. The courts enforce our laws. The Supreme Court interprets laws and determines their constitutionality. Lower courts can challenge a law and petition to be heard by the Supreme Court. A law can be struck down if found to be unconstitutional. Supreme Court Justices are appointed for life by the President after the approval of Congress. The Court is made up of the Chief Justice and, at the current time, there are there are 8 Associate Justices. The number of Justices has varied over the years, but the total is always an odd number to prevent deadlocks. Some acclaimed Justices include Oliver Wendell Holmes, Warren Berger, and Felix Frankfurter. The list goes on. Sandra Day O'Connor was the first female to be appointed the to Supreme Court.

Answer Question