What Were The Major Components Of The Reconstruction Act Of 1867?


1 Answers

Mehreen Misbah Profile
Mehreen Misbah answered
There were five components of the Reconstruction Act that was passed in the year 1867. The first component involved the ruling that any state governments in the South, which were not created under Lincoln's plan or Johnson's plan were null and void as far as the federal guidelines were concerned. Secondly, all of those who had served in the Confederate Army during the American Civil War did not have the right to vote or even to hold public office.

Thirdly, apart from the men who had served in the Confederate Army, all of the other white men as well as all the African Americans were given the right to vote and to hold public office. Another component of the Reconstruction Act was regarding the state governments of the Southern states, all of which were required to write new constitutions, which gave African Americans their due rights. Lastly, all of the Southern states were required to ratify the Fourteenth Amendment in order to join the Union.

Answer Question