When Did Nigeria Get Independence?


11 Answers

tariq mahmood Profile
tariq mahmood answered
Nigeria gained independence from the United Kingdom on 1 October 1960. Following the Napoleonic wars, the British expanded trade with the Nigerian interior. In 1885 British claims to a West African sphere of influence received international recognition and in the following year the Royal Niger Company was chartered under the leadership of Sir George Taubman Goldie. In 1900 the company's territory came under the control of the British Government, which moved to consolidate its hold over the area of modern Nigeria. On January 1, 1901 Nigeria became a British protectorate, part of the British Empire, foremost world power at the time and largest empire the world has ever seen. In 1914 the area was formally united as the Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria. Administratively Nigeria remained divided into the northern and southern provinces and Lagos colony. Western education and the development of a modern economy proceeded more rapidly in the south than in the north, with consequences felt in Nigeria's political life ever since. Following World War II, in response to the growth of Nigerian nationalism and demands for independence, successive constitutions legislated by the British Government moved Nigeria toward self-government on a representative and increasingly federal basis. By middle of the 20th century, when the great wave for independence was sweeping across Africa. Nigeria was granted full independence in October 1960 under a constitution that provided for a parliamentary government
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Nigeria got her independence on October 1st 1960, not 1980 I know because I'm from Nigeria.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Nigeria got her independence on OCTOBER 1, 1960!!!! I AM NIGERIAN AND SO I KNOW!!!!
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
October 1st ,1960
Sehar Suleman Profile
Sehar Suleman answered
Nigeria got independent in October 1980. At this time a British Monarch was still the head of the state but legislative powers were equally distributed among the three main ethnic groups namely The NPC (Nigerian Peoples Congress), The NCNC (National convention of Nigerian Citizens) and The AG (Action Group). In October 1962, Nigeria announced itself as a Federal Republic. General Nnamdi Azikiwe was the first President. In 1965 the country broke out in a civil war as the elections held that year produced major changes in the parliament and as the results of the elections were disputed. There was total civil unrest and riots broke out in various parts of the country.

On January 15, 1966 Nigeria came under military rule where the military leaders assassinated key figures and took over under the leadership of General Aguiyi-Ironsi. This military regime ended in 1977 when ban on political activity was lifted. On December 31, 1983, the army once again overthrew the government under the leadership of General Muhammad Buhari who became the leader of the Supreme Military Council and the new leader of the Country. In August 1985, his rule was overthrown peacefully as a result of constant deterioration of the economy of the country.

Finally in May 1999 when the fourth republic emerged, it ended the 16 year rule of the military. Olusegun Obasanjo was elected as the country's president and holds the office to date.

Answer Question