What Reforms Were Introduced In The Montague Chelmsford Reforms?


1 Answers

Amman Aamir Profile
Amman Aamir answered
The British government had promised in 1909 that new constitutional reforms will be introduced after every 10 years. Therefore the Montague Chelmsford Reforms were enforced in 1919. The main recommendations were:
1. A bicameral system was introduced according to which, there would be two houses,1)Upper class house consisting of 60 members and 2) Lower class house consisting of 145 members.
2. A Dyarchy system was introduced under which the reserved subjects will be in the hands of the British and the transferred subjects will be handed oven to the Indian Ministers.
3. The center was responsible for defense, external affairs, currency and communications etc.
4. Separate electorates were allowed to Muslims and Sikhs.
5. The executive council of the Viceroy should have 2-3 Indians.
6. The Viceroy or the Governor could overrule the Central or Provincial Legislative Assembly.
7. A commission would be appointed after every 10 years to review these reforms and to present more reforms.
8. 6 million voters were allowed to vote.

The Congress and the Muslim league both were not happy with these reforms because the idea of self-rule was still absent from the reforms. All powers were in the hands of British. The Viceroy and the Governors could overrule the Assemblies because they had vast powers.
thanked the writer.
Anonymous commented
Well pretty good..but it was not 6 million, it was 5.5 million which makes a 2% of the 250 million population of India.

Answer Question