How Do MPs Vote In The House Of Commons?


1 Answers

Richard Marsden Profile
Richard Marsden answered
When the second, or third, or report stage reading of a bill is to be voted on, or when amendments of a particular piece of legislation is to be voted on, the Speaker of the House will call for a vote. He or she states the motion subject to the vote and then says, "As many as are of that opinion say aye." Supporters of the motion will then shout aye. The speaker then asks, "On the contrary no?" If there is silence after this is asked, then the motion goes through. If one or more members shouts "no", then the Speaker announces that there is a division and asks for the lobbies to be cleared.

MPs then have around 5 minutes to walk through either the "aye or "no" lobby, where their vote is counted. Both the ayes and the nos have two tellers each. The Speaker announces "lock the doors" and, a few minutes later, the result is announced. If the government agrees with the motion, a clerk will announce: " The ayes to the right (number of votes)", the "Nos to the left (number of votes)." If the government opposes the motion, the directions are vice versa.

Answer Question