When Was The European Union Formed?


15 Answers

Ian Marshall Profile
Ian Marshall answered
The European Union, or EU, as it is commonly recognised as, was founded as a result of numerous treaties, that is generally seen as a response to the need to unify Europe after World War II. As distinct from ideas of federation, confederation or customs union the main development in Europe depends on a supranational foundation to make ‘war unthinkable and materially impossible’  and  further to reinforce democracy. However, it is generally regarded that The EU was created by the Maastricht Treaty, which entered into force on November 1, 1993.

Under the third Delors Commission, the Maastricht Treaty became effective, creating the European Union with its pillar system including foreign and home affairs alongside the European Community. Later, on 30 March 1994, accession negotiations concluded with Austria, Sweden and Finland. Meanwhile Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein in the European Economic Area (entered the EU on 1 January 1994), which allowed European Free Trade Association states to enter the Single European Market. The ensuing year saw the Schengen Agreement , which came into force between seven members. The 1990s also saw the further development of the euro. The 1 January 1994 saw the second stage of EMU begin with the establishment of the European Monetary Institute and at the break of 1999 the euro as a currency was launched and the European Central Bank was established. On 1 January 2002 notes and coins were put into circulation, replacing the old currencies entirely.

However, the EU has also be subject to certain European issues. The EU’s Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP), failed to intervene during the begging of the 1990’s conflict in the Balkans. Additionally, UN peacekeepers from the Netherlands failed to prevent the Srebrenica massacre (July 1995) in Bosnia and Herzegovina, the largest mass murder in Europe since the Second World War. The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) finally had to intervene in the war, forcing the combatants to the negotiation table. The Amsterdam treaty that was later enforced seeks to consolidate the EU’s foreign policy.

It has been considered that success of the formation of the EU has been overshadowed by the budget crisis in March 1999. The Parliament refused to approve the Commission's 1996 community's budget on grounds of financial mismanagement, fraud and nepotism. With Parliament ready to throw them out, the entire Santer Commission resigned. However, though the EU has certainly not been without its share of issues, it has hugely benefitted countries such as Malta and Cyprus. The support of the EU to these small European countries has not only prompted geographical unity, but it has also created financial security and a level of trade and commerce standards that have been enforced to prevent exploitation or corruption.
Aisha Profile
Aisha answered
European Union is a political and economic community with intergovernmental features. It is composed of 27 member states primarily located in Europe. It was formed in 1957 when six European countries formed the European Economic Community.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered
The E.you was formed in 1957 by 6 countries.
Steve Theunissen Profile
The European Economic Community is commonly called the European Common Market, or simply the Common Market. Its member nations are the same six that make up the European Coal and Steel Community—Belgium, Italy, France, the Netherlands, West Germany and Luxembourg. The Common Market was established by the Treaty of Rome, and it became operational January 1, 1958. Its headquarters are in Brussels, Belgium.

The purpose of the Common Market is gradually to remove restrictions on the free circulation of goods, workers, services and capital among member nations. And a degree of success has been realized in achieving these aims. Nevertheless, a truly unified market exists in connection with only a limited number of products, such as automobiles, household appliances, and so forth. A larger aim of this organization is a political unification of Europe.

The other six-nation organization that was established at the same time as the Common Market is the European Atomic Energy Commission, also called Euratom. It includes the same six nations as does the Common Market and the European Coal and Steel Community.
Anonymous Profile
Anonymous answered

Answer Question