Who Were The Major Players Of The Korean War? And What Were The Major Events Of The Korean War?


2 Answers

Yo Kass Profile
Yo Kass answered
The Korean War was fought between North Korea (or the Democratic People's Republic of Korea) and South Korea (the Republic of Korea). Both sides were supported by their foreign political allies.

War broke out in 1950, and after several developments, the death of more than 3 million people followed. A ceasefire was negotiated in 1953, although fighting didn't fully come to a halt until 1954. 

Major players and key participants in the Korean War

Although the actual military conflict that took place during the Korean War only involved North and South Korea, several nations were indirectly involved in the fighting.

The initial hostilities that led to the outbreak of war can in fact be traced back to the fall of Korea to allied forces following the surrender of the Japanese during World War II.

The Empire of Japan effectively controlled Korea from 1910 until the end of the Pacific War in 1945, when allied forces arrived. The country was then split into two separate occupied territories by the two main parties involved in the subsequent Korean conflict: The Soviet Union taking control of North Korea and the United States controlling South Korea.

All subsequent international involvement was based on this decision, with the USSR receiving the backing of regional power and fellow Communist state China, and to a lesser degree other countries of the Eastern Bloc. (For example, Czechoslovakian and Polish troops were chosen to represent North Korea as a neutral police force for the demilitarized border between the two countries at the end of the war.)

Due to American involvement, the United Nations also became integral to the containment of the Communist North Korean force and countries like the United Kingdom, France and Canada became involved through UN participation.

Other UN countries involved in the military conflict include:
  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Colombia
  • Ethiopia
  • Luxembourg
  • Philippines
  • Turkey
  • Thailand
  • South Africa
  • Greece
  • Luxembourg
  • New Zealand
  • Netherlands

The Korean War: A timeline of the major events

July 27th 1953: Armistice agreement signed
  • August 8th 1945: Russian troops invaded Manchuria and Korea
  • September 9th 1945: Japanese surrender Korea
  • November 14th 1947: U.N. Resolution to remove troops from Korea after national elections.
  • August 15th 1948: South Korea becomes a separate country
  • June 25th 1950: North Korea invades South Korea/UN demands North Korea stop its attack of South Korea and return to its previous border
  • June 26th 1950: North Korea's tanks reach Seoul.
  • June 30th 1950: US troops are deployed to enforce UN demands
  • September 15th 1950: US troops launch Inchon Invasion, passing the Pusan perimeter and pushing towards the 38th Parallel
  • January 1st 1951: North Korea and China joint attack
  • April 3rd 1951: UN forces fight back and cross the 38th parallel.
  • July 10th 1951: Armistice negotiations begin
  • June 17th 1953: New demarcation line is agreed upon
  • July 27th 1953: Armistice agreement signed
Aisha Profile
Aisha answered
The Korean war was basically an escalation of the Civil war between two Korean regimes, which were supported by the external powers. The major players of the Korean war were North Korea and South Korea. South Korea or the Republic of Korea was backed by United States, UK, Australia, Canada, France etc; and the North Korea was backed by China and Russia.

Answer Question